Government - Internal City StructureBusiness - Tools For GrowthServices - Provided by the CityCommunity - Resident EngagementEnjoy Norfolk - Leisure & VisitorsHow Do I - Information Center
Elizabeth River with a Tugboat, Sailboat and the USS Wisconsin
Click to Home

Go To Search
EmailPrint
RSS FacebookTwitterYouTube
Holiday Collection

2016 WASTE MANAGEMENT 
HOLIDAY COLLECTION SCHEDULE


 Holiday  Date of Holiday  Rescheduled Collection Date  Call in Bulk Waste by:
Independence Day Monday, July 4 No change to collection schedule 3 p.m., Friday, July 1, 2016
Labor Day Monday, September 5 No change to collection schedule 3 p.m., Friday, September 2, 2016
Veteran’s Day Friday, November 11 No change to collection schedule 3 p.m., Thursday, November 10, 2016
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24 Saturday, November 26, 2016 3 p.m., Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November  25 No change to collection schedule 3 p.m., Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Christmas Day Monday, December 26 No change to collection schedule 3 p.m., Friday, December 23, 2016
New Year's Day Monday, January 2 No change to collection schedule 3 p.m., Friday, December 30, 2016

Our HHW & E-waste collection facility will be closed on all holidays.


The Division of Towing and Recovery accepts unwanted E-waste 24 hours a day and seven days a week at 1188-A Lance Road.  Norfolk Residents must provide proof of residency; driver’s licenses or utility bills are acceptable.

Helpful Tips:

  • Requests for bulk waste collection must be made by 3 p.m., unless otherwise noted in the chart above, by calling the Norfolk Cares IMPACT Center at (757) 664-6510, or by completing a request at www.norfolk.gov/requesttracker.aspx. 
  • Blue recycling containers are collected on the same scheduled day of the week as green containers; however, recycling is collected every other week.
  • To determine your recycling day, call 757-664-6510 or view the recycling calendar.