Government - Internal City StructureBusiness - Tools For GrowthServices - Provided by the CityCommunity - Resident EngagementEnjoy Norfolk - Leisure & VisitorsHow Do I - Information Center
Elizabeth River with a Tugboat, Sailboat and the USS Wisconsin
home

Go To Search
InstagramLinkedinFacebookTwitterYouTubeRSS
Holiday Collection

2019 WASTE MANAGEMENT 
HOLIDAY COLLECTION SCHEDULE

Holiday

Affected Pickup Day

Rescheduled Collection Date

Call in Bulk Waste By*

Independence Day

Thursday, July 4

Saturday, July 6

3 p.m., Wednesday, July 3, 2019

Day-After Independence Day

Friday, July 5

No change to collection schedule

3 p.m., Wednesday, July 3, 2019 for Friday, July 5 collection day

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 28

Saturday, November 30

3 p.m., Wednesday, November 27, 2019

Day-After Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 29

No change to collection schedule

3 p.m., Wednesday, November 27 for Friday, November 29 collection day

Christmas Eve

Tuesday, December 24

No change to collection schedule

3 p.m., Monday, December 23, 2019

Christmas Day

Wednesday, December 25

Saturday, December 29

3 p.m., Friday, December 27, 2019

New Year's Day

Wednesday, January 1

Saturday, January 5

3 p.m., Friday, January 4, 2019


Helpful Tips:
  • Requests for bulk waste collection must be made by 3 p.m., unless otherwise noted in the chart above, by calling the Norfolk Cares IMPACT Center at (757) 664-6510, or by completing a request at www.norfolk.gov/requesttracker.aspx. 
  • Blue recycling containers are collected on the same scheduled day of the week as green containers; however, recycling is collected every other week.
  • To determine your recycling day, call 757-664-6510 or view the recycling calendar.