Government - Internal City StructureBusiness - Tools For GrowthServices - Provided by the CityCommunity - Resident EngagementEnjoy Norfolk - Leisure & VisitorsHow Do I - Information Center
Elizabeth River with a Tugboat, Sailboat and the USS Wisconsin
home

Go To Search
InstagramLinkedinFacebookTwitterYouTubeRSS
Holiday Collection

2018 WASTE MANAGEMENT 
HOLIDAY COLLECTION SCHEDULE

Holiday

Affected Pickup Day

Rescheduled Collection Date

Call in Bulk Waste By*

Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22 Saturday, November 24 3 p.m., Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Day-After Thanksgiving Day Friday, November 23 No change to collection schedule 3 p.m., Wednesday, November 21 for Friday, November 23 collection day
Christmas Eve Monday, December 24 No change to collection schedule  
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25 Saturday, December 29 3 p.m., Friday, December 28, 2018
New Year's Day Tuesday, January 1 Saturday, January 5 3 p.m., Friday, January 4, 2019

Our HHW & E-waste collection facility will be closed on all holidays.


The Division of Towing and Recovery accepts unwanted E-waste 24 hours a day and seven days a week at 1188-A Lance Road.  Norfolk Residents must provide proof of residency; driver’s licenses or utility bills are acceptable.

Helpful Tips:

  • Requests for bulk waste collection must be made by 3 p.m., unless otherwise noted in the chart above, by calling the Norfolk Cares IMPACT Center at (757) 664-6510, or by completing a request at www.norfolk.gov/requesttracker.aspx. 
  • Blue recycling containers are collected on the same scheduled day of the week as green containers; however, recycling is collected every other week.
  • To determine your recycling day, call 757-664-6510 or view the recycling calendar.